Beatbox and new technologies

b714c6_6257f57f92a44b5eb5de030b6d5365a5_mv2.jpg

Black Adopo was a computer scientist before becoming a professional beatboxer. He has an IRCOMS master's degree (telecommunications technology and computer networks) and worked for 2 years as a web developer (Chicorée Développement later became Unitiz). He has therefore always been interested in new technologies. After seeing the work of beatboxers LOS and Ezra and their bionicologists project where the latter acted on their vocal music via cell phones, Black Adopo set out to develop their own new controllers. Under Ezra's advice, he developed various projects with phones, tablets, the specktr glove, a leap motion or even the kinect. Since then he has been working with the organic orchestra company and the free electron company to give beatbox interventions and new controllers. (www.organic-orchestra.com) He is also working on the development of his own tablet / smartphone / specktr glove looper.


In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Video example:

Leap motion

Tab lettes and smartphones

Kinect

Intervening artists: Black Adopo


Duration: the duration is evaluated according to the group, the age and the chosen direction

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Example of formula:

- Several small sessions of one hour with each group for a simple presentation of the beatbox and technological tools (this formula is usually accompanied by a concert of Black Adopo behind)

- a 2 to 3 hour session to explore the world of beatbox and new technology with a concert by Black Adopo

- A week of initiation (at least 3 sessions) in order to make a live performance mixing beatbox and new technologies

- A week of initiation (at least 4 sessions) with the aim of creating an ephemeral installation

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.


Technical needs: Except for ephemeral installations, the company can rent all the equipment necessary for the realization of this service. In all cases, a technical sheet will be communicated according to the established formula. An ephemeral installation may require certain additional purchases.

- Develop self-confidence, personal fulfillment, emancipation through collective musical practice


- Develop your imagination


- Being able to create music just with your voice


- Know some bases of computer music

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

- Understand the principle of effects in contemporary music

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

- Understand how we can detour digital objects for artistic purposes


- Promote the work of young people through the realization of a live performance or a digital installation (depending on the formula)

The intervention: Combining the practice of the human beatbox and the diversion of everyday technological objects, Black Adopo offers you during this intervention to explore the different artistic possibilities offered by the human beatbox. Indeed, beyond traditional midi instruments or controllers, many objects such as mobile phones, tablets, video game controllers can nowadays make it possible to control sound material. Participants will thus be able to discover and experience this type of diversion and practice the “augmented beatbox”.

The service: Black Adopo will then give you an augmented beatbox service. He will use certain means presented previously (tablet, smartphone and specktr glove) to loop and put different effects on his human beatbox to take you into a very particular universe. Welcome to the world of "geekboxing".

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Installation: For large projects, it is possible to consider a digital sound and digital installation. This formula is tailor-made and varies each time. For more information do not hesitate to contact us.

Beatbox et nouvelles technologies

b714c6_6257f57f92a44b5eb5de030b6d5365a5_

Black  Adopo  était  informaticien  avant  de  se  convertir  beatboxer professionnel.  Il  a  un  master  IRCOMS  (technique  de  télécommunications et  réseaux  informatique)  et  a  travaillé  2  ans  en  tant  que  développeur  web (Chicorée  Développement  devenu  ensuite  Unitiz).  Il  s’est,  de  ce  fait, toujours  intéressé  aux  nouvelles  technologies.  Après  avoir  vu  les  travaux des  beatboxers  LOS  et  Ezra  et  leur  projet  bionicologists  où  ces  derniers agissaient  sur  leur  musique  vocale  via  des  téléphones  portable,  Black Adopo  s’est  mis  à  développer  ses  propres  nouveaux  contrôleurs.  Sous  les conseils  d’Ezra,  il  a  développé  différents  projets  avec  des  téléphones,  des tablettes,  le  gant  specktr,    un  leap  motion  ou  encore  la  kinect.  Depuis  il travaille  avec  la  compagnie  organic  orchestra et la compagnie l'électron libre  pour  donner  des  interventionjs beatbox  et  nouveaux  contrôleurs.  (www.organic-orchestra.com)  Il  travaille également  sur  l’élaboration  de  son  propre  looper  Tablette/smartphone/gant specktr.


Exemple en vidéo :

Leap Motion

Tablettes et smartphones

Kinect

Artistes intervenants : Black Adopo


Durée : la durée est évalué en fonction du groupe, de l'âge et de la direction choisie

Exemple de formule :

- Plusieurs petites seances d'une heure avec chaque groupe pour une simpme prrsentation du beatbox et des outils technologiques (cette formule et accompagnée en général d'un concert de Black Adopo derrière)

- une séance de 2 à 3h pour explorer l"univers du beatbox et des nouvelled technologie avec concert de Black Adopo

- Une semaine d'initiation (au moins 3 seances) dans le but de faire une prestation live mélant beatbox et nouvelles technologies

- Une semaine d'initiation (au moins 4 seanced) dans le but de réalisation d'une installation éphémère


Besoins techniques : Hors installation éphémère, la compagnie peut louer tout le matériel nécessaire à la réalisation de cette prestation. Dans tous les cas, une fiche technique sera communiqué en fonction de la formule établie. Une réalisation d'installation éphémère peut nécessité certains achats supplémentaires.

- Développer la confiance en soi, l’épanouissement personnel, l’émancipation par la pratique musicale collective


- Développer son imagination


- Etre capable de créer de la musique rien qu’avec sa voix


- Connaître quelques bases de la MAO

- Comprendre le principe des effets en musique actuelle

- Comprendre comment l'on peut détouner les objets numériques dans un but artistique


- Valoriser le travail des jeunes à travers la réalisation d’une prestation live ou d'une installation numérique (en fonction de la formule)

L'intervention  :  Couplant  pratique  du  human  beatbox  et  détournement  d’objets technologiques  du  quotidien,  Black  Adopo  vous  propose  durant  cette intervention  d’explorer  les  différentes  possibilités  artistiques  offertes  par  le human  beatbox.  En  effet,  au-delà  des  instruments  ou  contrôleurs  midi traditionnels,  de  nombreux  objets  tels  des  téléphones  portables,  des tablettes,  des  manettes  de  jeux  vidéo  peuvent  permettre  aujourd’hui  de piloter  la  matière  sonore.  Les  participants  pourront  ainsi  découvrir  et expérimenter ce  type  de  détournement  et  pratiquer le  «beatbox augmenté».

 

La  prestation : Black  Adopo  vous  fera  ensuite  une  prestation  de  beatbox  augmenté.  Il utilisera  certains  moyens  présentés  auparavant  (tablette,  smartphone  et gant  specktr)  pour  boucler  et  mettre  différents  effets  sur  son  human beatbox  pour  vous  emmener  dans  un  univers  bien  particulier.  Bienvenue dans  le  monde  du « geekboxing ». 

L'installation : Lors de gros projets, il est possible d'envisager une installation numérique sonore et numérique. Cette formule est taillée sur mesure et varie à chaque fois. Pour plus d'infos n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.